Patrick and Janet Stuart Scholarship for students from Lesotho

Canon Collins Trust is delighted to offer one scholarship each year in the name of Patrick and Janet Stuart. This is a named award under the Canon Collins Scholarships for Postgraduate study in South Africa.

Janet and Patrick lived in Lesotho from 1979 to 1985, working in education and accountancy respectively. These scholarships are offered in memory of Patrick, who died in 2007, and of their warm links with the Basotho people. The scholarship is available for students from Lesotho to study at postgraduate level at a South African university.

Are you eligible?

  • be a national of Lesotho
  • be normally resident in Lesotho
  • be in possession of a good first degree (minimum second class, upper division or equivalent) or about to graduate in the year of application
  • be studying or applying to study at a South African university

Other criteria and the application process are the same as for a Canon Collins Scholarship

What we offer

In 2018 most awards will be valued at R70,000 for each year of study at Masters and PhD level. In exceptional cases we may offer up to R100,000 per year. We support both full and part-time study and will consider applications from those who wish to study by distance learning.

We also organise an annual conference for current scholars, and hold several smaller events throughout the year. Scholarship holders are expected to participate in these activities and to become part of and contribute to our network.