The Right Honourable Lord Peter Hain
Patron of the Trust

Lord Peter Hain was MP for Neath from 1991-2015, serving in the governments of Tony Blair and Gordon Brown, holding several Cabinet positions. In November 2015 he was introduced to the House of Lords. Born in South Africa, Lord Hain's family was exiled to London in 1966 after his parents were banned for their anti-apartheid activities. He became a British anti-apartheid leader, particularly involved in the campaign to boycott all-white South African sports tours from 1969 onwards. In December 2015, he received the OR Tambo National Award in Silver for his ‘excellent contribution to the freedom struggle'. Lord Hain has served as patron of the Canon Collins Trust since June, 2016.

John Battersby
Chair of Trustees

John joined the board in July 2012 after serving for five years on the board of the Legal Assistance Trust. Having worked as a journalist for many years, John served as editor of the Sunday Independent in Johannesburg and was the southern Africa correspondent for the New York Times. He is also the former UK Manager of Brand South Africa.

Dr Maano Ramutsindela
Vice Chair

Maano joined the board in 2007. He is Professor in the Department of Environmental & Geographical Science at the University of Cape Town, specialising in transfrontier conservation in southern Africa, and land reform issues and border disputes which were created by apartheid. He is a Canon Collins alumnus, having completed his PhD at Royal Holloway, University of London on a Canon Collins scholarship.

Dr Kai Easton

Kai joined the board in 2009. She is a Senior Lecturer at SOAS, University of London, specialising in South African literature.  She previously taught at the universities of Sussex and Rhodes, and was a Mellon postdoctoral fellow in English at the University of KwaZulu-Natal from 2004-2006.

Dr Beacon Mbiba

Beacon joined the board in 2009. He is a Senior Lecturer in Urban Policy and International Development at Oxford Brookes University. Beacon has worked extensively on land issues and justice for the poor, including for UN HABITAT and the International Labour Office.

Dr Mpalive Msiska

Mpalive joined the board in 2009. A Malawian national, he is the Course Director for English and Humanities at Birkbeck, University of London. Mpalive is an expert on postcolonial literature and has taught at the University of Malawi. He currently writes for several academic journals and is a member of the Council of the Royal African Society.

Lawson Naidoo

Lawson has a legal background and is the Executive Secretary of the Council for the Advancement of the South African Constitution (CASAC). He has accumulated 25 years’ experience in the political, parliamentary, business and NGO sectors.

Pfungwa Nyamukachi

Pfungwa is the Africa Regional Subscriptions Executive at Research Africa, a Cape Town based multi-media publishing company working with researchers, scientists, universities and research institutes across Africa and the Caribbean in research management and capacity building.

Nicolette Naylor

Nicolette joined the board in 2016. She is a prominent human rights activist and attorney who specialises in women's rights and socio-economic rights. Nicolette is Ford Foundation's Director for Southern Africa. Previously, she worked as a lawyer in the equality program at the International Centre for the Legal Protection of Human Rights (Interights) in London, focusing on international human rights and litigation before the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (ACHPR) and the European Court of Human Rights. Nicolette is a Canon Collins alumna, having completed her LLM at University College London on a Canon Collins scholarship.

David Holberton

David Holberton joined the Board as Treasurer in February 2016.  He is a Chartered Accountant who worked in public accounting for nine years in London and Toronto and now acts as locum finance director for SMEs in a variety of sectors which have included aviation, retail and contract catering, corporate events management, IT consultancy, publishing, and charities. 

Emily Hayter

Emily Hayter joined the board in February 2016. She is Programme Manager for Evidence Informed Policy at INASP, an organisation that supports research access, production, and use in developing countries. She has a background in international development with a focus on Africa, particularly in education, politics, and civil society, and previously worked as Partnerships and Communications Manager for CCELAT.